24.6 C
Wednesday, July 6, 2022

LRT1 offer free rides on Independence Day and launches new beep™ card promo

- Advertisement (970x250 Desktop) -

- Advertisement (300x250) -

How do you feel about this story?


Private operator of LRT-1 Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) joins the nation in celebrating the 124th Philippine Independence Day on 12 June 2022 with special promotional offers for commuters.

- Advertisement (300x250) -

Starting 12 June 2022, the total cost of a new beep™ card with load will be PHP50 from the previous total amount of PHP100. The cost of the beep™ card itself remains at PHP30, but the minimum load required for new beep™ card purchases has been reduced to PHP20 from the previous amount of PHP70. Passengers may avail of this special offer until 30 September 2022 at LRT-1 teller booths only. beep™ cards have a validity of four (4) years, which is subject to extension upon request at the LRT-1 stations.

“We are launching this initiative to make beep™ card more accessible, more affordable for budget-conscious passengers. Through this promo, they can now buy a reloadable Stored Value Card (SVC) or beep™ at half of the previous total cost of a new beep™ card with load. This aligns with LRMC’s Tap2Ride campaign which aims to promote the use of contactless transactions in LRT-1 for safety and convenience,” LRMC Head of Corporate Communications and Customer Relations Jacqueline S. Gorospe said.

“Aside from safer and faster travel, passengers can enjoy a wide range of benefits when they use beep™ such as discounted LRT-1 fares which can mean savings for commuters. There are more ways now to reload their beep™ cards such as Ticket Vending Machines, beep™ loading machines, and LRT-1 merchant loading kiosks – all located in LRT-1 stations. They can also use beep™ as e-money to purchase food or services from select LRT-1 merchants,” Gorospe added.

Moreover, LRT-1 passengers will enjoy a free ride from 7:00am – 9:00am and 5:00pm – 7:00pm on 12 June 2022 as part of the yearly Independence Day promo. Existing beep™ card holders shall pass through the usual Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS) gates and tap their cards to avail of the free ride without charge. Passengers without beep™ may get single journey tickets for free from the LRT-1 teller booths.

LRT-1 will follow normal operating hours on Independence Day, with the first trips leaving both Baclaran and Balintawak stations at 4:30am, and the last trips at 9:15pm (LRT-1 Baclaran Station) and 9:30pm (LRT-1 Balintawak Station).

For more updates and info on the LRT-1, follow LRMC on Facebook at facebook.com/officialLRT1, Twitter at @officialLRT1, or download the ikotMNL mobile app for free on Google Play and App Store.

This article has been initially published last

What can you say about this story?

- Advertisement (300x250) -

What's the latest?

- Advertisement (970 x 250 Desktop) -